Week Commencing 17th September 2018

Monday 17th September

Today, we began to take part in the 48 hour challenge of chair duets, working in pairs to create and develop a routine. We also picked a location for the filming of the duets on Tuesday 18th September.

Initial thoughts:

  • I felt that me and my partner worked well together to contribute and put our ideas together.
  • I was pleased that we were able to fit the chair duet in time to a piece of music and develop the dynamics.
  • I was happy that we successfully found a site-sensitive environment to film our piece.
  • I am excited to be able to develop this in a site-sensitive environment.

Breaking this down:

We began in the morning to put ideas together and gradually build our routine. Me and my partner have similar interests and ideas, therefore, we successfully worked well together to gradually build on our work. We had selected our music out of 5 options and felt happy that our piece worked well and could be developed with this (dynamics etc). After performing our final ideas to the class before filming tomorrow, we had selected many possible areas to film our piece and have a positive idea for where our final performance will be filmed.

Evaluative Analysis:

After pairing up, me and my partner worked well to create and blend our ideas into one. This helped the process run smoother and developed how quickly our piece came along. Similarly, our similar interests led to us being able to develop a similar style, which was beneficial.

After lunch, we began to put the small routine which is repeated twice to music, we immediately agreed on a piece which would benefit and add to our performance. We are able to develop our dynamics and tempo of the routine. This helped how the moves can be interpreted by an audience.

At the end of the day, we went out and explored different areas to be used to film in. We had picked an open space with a place to sit and still have other options to consider. Meaning that we can develop further on the day.

Action plan:

I am pleased to be able to perform this in a new environment. I may have to adapt movements with my partner to fit the location to do this. Additionally, this will add new aspects to our performance.


Tuesday 18th September

Today, we performed our chair duets in a new environment, switching locations and editing them together.

Initial thoughts:

  • I was pleased that we were able to develop our routine to fit our surroundings.
  • We worked together to adapt our moves to the height levels of the environment.
  • I was happy that we successfully worked together well to decide on filming areas.
  • We would of liked to have had a small amount of extra time to fix any tiny problems.

Breaking this down:

Good

We worked very well in our amount of time to successfully choose on areas to film in. Additionally to develop the angles as well as movement content of our dances to fit the environment. Due to a change in environment, we adapted the levels of our piece for interest as well as to fit our original routine. Myself and my partner worked extremely well together throughout the process.

Bad

When picking and developing our movement content, we had to be fairly fast as we needed time to fit our routine to the surroundings as well as film our content.

Evaluative Analysis:

We began to film our pieces at approximately 12:30. We went around in groups of 4, taking it in turns to film each group and provide the music. We filmed in multiple locations and edited the snippets of each motif to provide the overall routine. We successfully developed the content to fit the space by adapting to the level changes as well as surface area.

We had a change in our thought process and changed our final filming area from where we had originally chosen for our ideas. We believed the area was more spacious and provided more interesting location possibilities. We switched locations within Abby Gardens for interest and to engage our audience. However this also gave us chance to explore new areas and see how this would change our choreography.

Action plan:

Overall, I was very pleased with the outcome of our performance. If we were to repeat the same exercise I will be more aware of timing and try and plan this in advance.

These are a few photos from our final performance:


Wednesday 19th September

Season Rehearsals:

Today in season rehearsals we did a company read through for Zombie Prom with our director Han. The cast list was released at lunch and I have been casted in the ‘Kids Ensemble’.

Initial thoughts:

  • Everybody worked well and concentrated to work through the script.
  • I was engaged with the storyline and actors throughout.

Breaking this down:

Throughout the rehearsal we did a full read through as a company. We simply worked through the script and listed to a few of the tracks we hadn’t heard of before. As the story line developed and it became more fluid, everybody became even more engaged by what was being created.

Action plan:

I am excited to work on this musical and look forward to working hard in rehearsals.


Thursday 20th September

Season Rehearsals:

Today in season rehearsals we began to develop and work on the opening number of ‘Zombie Prom’ (Enrico Fermi High). We focused a lot on our harmony work, unison development as well as rhythm and intonation.

Initial thoughts:

  • I believe that we all worked hard and had a high level of focus to ensure we were on top of what we were being taught and had a good chance of memorising this faster.
  • We all tried our best to record any given harmonies, this way, we can go over it tonight to ensure we have the highest chance of memorisation.
  • I am mainly placed to sing a tenor part. However, as a part of todays rehearsal, mostly sang the alto lines. This is beneficial as my voice sits easily in these two parts.

Breaking this down:

Good

Working hard in rehearsals today with Paul and Han meant that we are on top of what we are doing and have a better chance of being successful. We were on top of what we were doing. We were taught the whole song, with all attention to detail, meaning that we have a great chance of having as much time as possible to develop other things.

It is good that I am on the tenor and alto part as they are close together and sit very well in my range, meaning that I am singing as confidently as possible.

Bad

We had to re visit the harmonies a couple of times and go over what we had been taught. This is because many of them were close to another part, meaning that there was temptation to join another. However, recording our parts meant that we could familiarise ourselves with the parts when they were working with the baritones and basses.

Evaluative Analysis:

We still have 10 weeks remaining and have just begun the rehearsal process, meaning that there is a large amount of time remaining to tighten and fix our harmonies, rhythm, intonation and unison work. If every member of the company works at their hardest and works to be off book for the songs we have learnt that day, we will have more time for extra things. We managed to work through the whole song with the whole company, sometimes the girls and boys split so we individually had time to recap what we had just done and ensure we were confident. If we are confident on what we are holding, there is a better chance that it will pull together quickly as we won’t be relying on others. Additionally, this song opens the whole musical, therefore, it needs to be very big throughout. The music is very upbeat and uses American language, as this is where it’s set. This means we have to adapt an accent throughout and carry out the 1950’s vibe to relate to our character of a teenager in the 1950’s. If we work this hard every rehearsal we will be on top of all of our singing and feel very confident with what we are doing throughout. This will benefit our performance. Tomorrow, we will be running this and as we have recapped this outside of rehearsals using our recording, we should hopefully be close to having the completion of our first song.

Action plan

  • I will regularly go over my harmonies and words for any songs, to ensure that I am confident with what I am doing.
  • I will also remained very focused throughout every rehearsal to make sure that I am on top of what I am doing throughout.

This is important as it means that everybody will be focused and wanting to work hard to finish the first stages of the songs as soon as possible. This way we can soon move onto staging and choreography.


Friday 21st September

Season Rehearsals:

Today in season rehearsals, we continued to work through work through the songs in the whole score of the show. We continued to finish and polish “Enrico Fermi High” and began “Ain’t no going back” and “Jonny don’t go to the nuclear plant”.

Initial thoughts:

  • We concentrated well and focused throughout to ensure that we were as confident as possible with our harmony lines.
  • For one of the songs I am on the Mezzo harmony line, however, I felt that this sat well in my range and I was very comfortable with this.
  • We recorded the harmony parts, to help us if we ever get stuck and needed a reminder.
  • At times it was hard to remember our harmonies and stay on our line as they were very close to the other parts.

Breaking this down:

Good

Throughout the rehearsal, everybody tried their best to maintain their concentration throughout to benefit the production and how quickly we work through the songs. I felt positive about being switched to the mezzo line as I am usually a tenor or an alto. Additionally, I am able to explore the middle of my range for this song. Throughout the rehearsal and whole process, we will be recording our harmony lines to ensure and benefit our memory of these.

Bad

At times, I found it difficult to strongly hold my harmony lines, as the tenor and soprano sing very closely to us. However, the more we produced the sound confidently, we could correct ourselves and fix any issues.

Evaluative Analysis:

We have now just completed the first full week in our separate companies. From Wednesday, we began to be able to work knowing our parts. We have completed three songs in two rehearsals, and have approximately 8 weeks until the show, we are making very good progress. I find that recording our harmony is very beneficial as it gives us the resource to be able to work on these at home if we are ever feeling, unsure, stuck, or would just like a recap. Additionally, due to the harmony lines fitting very close together, the recordings help us to ensure that we are on the right line and singing out confidently. Maintaining a high level of focus throughout the rehearsal is important as it gives us the tools to be able to work and concentrate at our best to be able to develop the show for a good time. It is very important that these things are continued throughout the rehearsal process as they are very beneficial and provide us with what we need to be working at our best.

Action plan:

  • I will continue to record my harmony lines so that I have the resources to recap them regularly and familiarise myself if we haven’t done the song in a while.
  • I will continue to work hard and focus throughout every rehearsal to ensure that I am getting it correct and fixing any mistakes.

Technique Class

Wednesday 19th September

Today we had an intermediate tap class with Rob, focusing on complex pickups and new time steps. We developed these to create a break and began to choreograph to a chosen rhythm.

Initial thoughts:

  • I felt pleased that I was able to pick up the rhythm and steps for the new time step we learnt.
  • I worked on the pickup exercise and felt as I improved as it was repeated.
  • I enjoyed to begin to choreograph to a new given rhythm.
  • I would of liked to improved on how quickly I picked up the complex pick ups exercise.

Breaking this down:

Good

We began to learn and develop new time steps. Firstly, we added a break and then developed this further by adding doubles and triples. I felt that I adapted to this well and improved as we began to repeat this exercise. Additionally, when we began to choreograph to new timings, I was pleased that I was able to creatively think of tap steps to fit the rhythms.

Bad

I would have liked to have picked up the pick up exercise a tiny bit faster and have memorised this at a quicker pace when performing this individually.

Evaluative Analysis:

We began the class by developing the complex pick up exercise from the previous week. I felt confident with the routine on the right foot. However, when the repeat was added in on the left foot I felt that I began to get muddled on the order. However, as the routine was repeated and I worked through it repeating the order in my head, I was beginning to be more successful.

Then we began to work on and develop our time steps. Once being taught the sequence and timing we were sent to work through this. Me and Maddie worked to develop this and begin to memorise the steps. I felt that I picked this up quickly due to repeating the movements alongside the rhythms and timings. Then, we added a break and extra steps to create a double and triple. Similarly, repetition helped our development of this.

To finish the class, we were given a rhythm and we began to choreograph steps to this. Even though we didn’t have time to finish the exercise, I felt that I was able to make choices and develop my movements to fit the timing.

Action plan:

When working on pick ups, I will continue to use the repetition technique to grasp the order of the steps faster.

Leave a comment